Mining Grace

…the more happiness you have, the more I shall count myself glorified

Back from Orlando

I’m back from the GCA conference on church planting.  I had a great time in Orlando but am glad to be back.  All this traveling is beginning to wear on me.  Here are a few updates since my last post that you might find interesting.

  • The website for the church plant in Culpeper is now live.  Go and check it out.
  • I designed the Culpeper website with wordpress.com.  While I was designing the site I thought I had shutdown access to it.  I discovered however that I had shutdown mininggrace.com rather than culpepermission.org  So if you haven’t been able to view Mining Grace for two weeks, now you know why.  Oops.
  • I just received this book and this book in the mail.  Can’t wait to dive into them both.
  • I saw some old friends and met some new ones while in Orlando.  You should check out their work.
    • Tony Giles discipled me while I was in college.  I had no idea that he was going to be at GCA.  Imagine my surprise and elation to catch up with such a dear friend.  He is laboring in Nashville with Ian Sears.
    • I got to catch up with some old friends from church planter assessment this past November.  One of whom is McKay Caston who is planting a church north of Atlanta.  Check out his work on the Dahlonega Church Plant. (facebook group)
    • James Park is another one of my assessment alumni.  We shared a room at GCA.  He is planting a church north of Los Angeles.  Check out his work on GracePoint Mission.
    • One of the great things about going to conferences is meeting new friends.  I got to spend some time with Tim Brister at GCA.  Tim is one of the guys who I know from online social networks: twitter, facebook, and blogging.  Virtual became tangible as we got together over chicken wings to discuss church planting, Puritans, and triathlons.  Check out his blog, church planting work, and church.

Those are all of my updates for now.

Written by Joe Holland

February 2, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Posted in haste

Tagged with , ,

